Thanksgiving with Extended Family

Thanksgiving Day I was determined to not do any studying or schoolwork but just relax and enjoy the holiday. I kicked off the morning with a little baking; this granola recipe is slightly addicting and tastes absolutely delicious. I tweaked it a little bit adding in some sliced almonds and hemp seeds, and about 1/2 tsp of almond extract for a little extra almond flavor. I bumped up the nutmeg a notch too, with a couple extra cranks of my grinder.

Mix everything together:

P1020072

Bake at 300F for 30 minutes, then remove from the oven, add the dried fruit, and let cool.

P1020073

I spent Thanksgiving at my boss’s house with his family. I’m lucky to have such a great work family – all my coworkers are older women and are such a blast to work with and hear gossip from!

My boss, me and his wife.

P1020089

After lunch, me and my boss:

P1020086

They really went to a lot of trouble for me, being gluten-free, and picky ;) They picked up a couple slices of free-range turkey just for me because of my ethical beliefs when it comes to eating animals. They also used GF flour in recipes that called for flour, and picked up some hummus and GF crackers (not shown). Plus a whole pineapple upside-down cake that was GF that I got to take home. :)

My plate with samplings of just about everything: sweet potato casserole (had seconds with dessert it was so good), mashed potatoes, cranberry jelly-sauce, turkey, cole slaw, peas, noodles with browned butter, and broccoli casserole.

P1020080

If only I’d remembered to photograph the cake. I sliced it up and froze the slices to enjoy as I please. And I got to take home some leftovers of everything. ‘Twas perfect!

What was the best part of your Thanksgiving? Did you participate in Black Friday shopping?

I may have bought myself an early Christmas present! I’m sure some of you can guess, as I was asking you questions. Everyone else will have to wait until it comes in the mail later this week. I’m super pumped about it though! :)

P.S. Tomorrow is the last day to enter the Endangered Species chocolate giveaway.

This entry was posted in health, nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thanksgiving with Extended Family

  1. Oh my goodness – they went to so much trouble for you! That was so sweet of them!

  2. Katie says:

    What a nice family to go to all that trouble! I did schoolwork…sigh.

  3. Lindsay says:

    Sounds like you had a fabulous thanksgiving. I am glad to hear that you have a great work family, I am sure that they make it more enjoyable going to work. I find that because I have people that I can talk to and joke with I work I enjoy being there for the long hours I work!! :)

  4. Katie says:

    Im so glad you had a great turkey day! How nice your boss had you over, it is really great to have a great boss and co workers, you are very lucky for that! U look so beautiful! Your hair is so long, love it, I want mine to be longer too, then after the wedding Im going to get it cut shoulder length!

    Love ya girl! I bet that pineapple cake was yum! How awesome too they made sure to make stuff that you could eat, your boss rocks!!!

  5. teenagehealthfreak says:

    wow, that was really sweet of them to do all that for you!! glad you had a great thanksgiving!! best part of thanksgiving was getting to see the family..and the pumpkin pie i made..had the last piece about 5 minutes ago :( and we skipped the shopping this year…and cleaned instead.

  6. Caitlyn says:

    Oooooo! I can’t wait till your christmas present arrives! You’re going to LOVE it. I’ll shut my mouth now so I don’t say more that I should!!! Enjoy.

  7. veganeese says:

    Black Friday? Pft… I slept in!
    And that’s so nice of them, sounds like you had a really good time.
    My Thanksgiving was fun, too. Intense games of pictionary with the family always rule.

  8. Salah says:

    That granola looks soooo yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

