Enchiladas!

I love Mexican food. Tacos, enchiladas, burritos, beans and rice. Guacamole. Chips and salsa. I’ve practically given tribute to mexi-merican already, but I think it’s time for one of my favorite recipes. I’ve been making this for a long time, and it’s super easy, and super delicious.

Almost Homemade Enchiladas:

  • 4 – 6 corn tortillas
  • 1 can black bean soup, or black beans
  • 1/2 tbsp EVOO
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1/2 green pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp cumin (optional)
  • 1 tbsp cilantro (optional)
  • dash of cayenne (optional)

Pre-heat oven to 350F.

Saute the onion and garlic in the EVOO until browning (about 8 minutes). Add the chopped zucchini and green pepper and continue to sauté. Add the can of black bean soup and spices.

Arrange the corn tortillas in the bottom of a baking dish that is coated with a small layer of liquid from the soup.

P1010928

Spoon the mixture into the tortillas.

P1010930

Fold the tortillas over themselves and top with liquid from the soup.

P1010931

Bake at 350F for 5 – 10 minutes until tortillas are heated through.

P1010933

Serve!

They fell apart trying to spoon them out of the pan, but that didn’t affect the taste at all.

Sides can be anything you desire: chips and salsa, guacamole, tomato slices, avocado slices, etc.

My favorite soup to use is the black bean soup by Muir Glen, but any will do, or even cooked/canned black beans.

Veggies can be substituted too: add more tomatoes, omit peppers or use red instead, add more corn, add jalapenos, etc.

Have you ever tried enchiladas? What are your favorite mexican foods and sides?

This entry was posted in health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Enchiladas!

  1. That looks so good that I don’t even know where to start.

  2. Caitlyn says:

    Yum! Who cares if it falls apart. It looks so darn good!

    My favorite mexican food (aside from guacamole, of course) is the quesadilla. The crispiness and melty cheese is such a delight to eat!

  3. I love enchiladas! I’ve never attempted making them at home, but who cares if they fall apart? They look like they taste great!!

  4. Katie says:

    I make enchilada casserole a lot. You just layer the ingredients. I figure, if its going to fall apart anyway, why waste my time and get all dirty rolling them, you know?

  5. teenagehealthfreak says:

    OMGoodness…these look sooo yummy! i wanta make some!!! i’m going to put this on the menu..of course for my dad meat is NESSESSARY…men. i used to love cheese enchiladas..can’t rememeber the last time i had one..my mom make the once and while ..they’re yummy!! :)

  6. veganeese says:

    I’ve actually never been too big on Mexican food, so I’ve never had enchaladas. Although since I went vegan, I’ve found a new love for veggie fajitas and quesadillas!
    Looks good, maybe I’ll try it!

    This is the first time I’ve ever checked out your blog, but I like it!

  7. Pingback: Baking, Baking | The Vegster

  8. Pingback: Chobani Review and Greek Yogurt Uses | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

