Mexi-merican

Usually when I get cravings it’s for a specific food: sweet potatoes, broccoli, tomatoes, carrots, granola, peanut butter, frozen bananas.

But sometimes I crave a certain type of cuisine. Today that craving was Mexican. Or Southwestern. Or as I like to call it: Meximerican.

When I lived in Tampa, I frequented two of my favorite restaurants: Chipotle and Tijuana Flats. When I go back to visit I make it a point to visit at least one. Fulfill my cravings. Remember the times I’d go there with my mom, or with my best friends. It’s about the food, but it’s also about the memories I have there.

Well, tonight was just about the food.

Sarah has a recipe on her blog for a Southwest Quinoa Bake that I’ve been eyeballing. Well, tonight was the night. Quinoa, black beans, tomatoes,¬†caramelized¬†onions, cilantro, and cheese. It was just calling my name. I made a few tweaks (add in corn and zucchini, and used a portobello instead of the button mushrooms), but nothing majorly different.

P1010904

Pepper jack cheese. Just begging for me to dip into it.

P1010905

This definitely did not disappoint. I had some tortilla chips to scoop it up with.

P1010906

Have you tried any new recipes lately?

This entry was posted in recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mexi-merican

  1. That looks incredible – I was planning on making some kind of quinoa casserole this week – that’s the winner!

  2. This looks SO good. I usually crave a certain food, too – but when I crave something hot and spicy, I need something hot & spicy! Probably because usually my food isn’t spicy even by a little bit :P
    Hmm…new recipes. I’m always playing with something new! I think most recent was a … tofu scramble? …of sorts.

  3. Katie says:

    I’m the same way – I crave specific foods. Right now I am in a recipe rut, and I need something to pull me out. Mexi-merican sounds great!

  4. hihorosie says:

    Looks awesome! And I’m sure smells soooo good! I heart Mexican food! I plan on making some Mexi tonight! So excited. :)

  5. Ohhh this looks so good- it would be perfect for me and the BF’s Thursday dinners!! I feel like you could crumble tortilla chips on top instead of cheese to veganize it too…

  6. Steph says:

    Throw in some spices (no such thing as too much cumin) and a few jalepenos and call it Tex Mex :)

  7. Pingback: Enchiladas! | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

