When life hands you….

lemons apples, what do you do?

This week Earthfare had a coupon for spend at least $5, get a free 3lbs of oraganic honeycrisp apples (<3). Plus yesterday I happened to buy 3 lbs of gala apples. So right now I’m swimming in apples. But that’s ok. Chop ‘em. Freeze ‘em. And later use them to add to oatmeal or to saute and make cinnamon apples.

6 lbs of apples later: chopped and frozen. Check. :)

Besides chopping tons of apples, I’ve also been a busy bee making a double batch of granola.

photo-1

Oh my, this is going to make my mommy one happy camper. It’s not gluten-free so I can’t eat it, but my roommate even commented on how amazing it smelled. Try this recipe!

photo

Two full trays worth. I need to experiment with throwing some pumpkin in for some festively fall granola.

What are you favorite granola add ins?

Favorite apple uses?

This entry was posted in health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to When life hands you….

  1. I absolutely adore granola – right now it’s all about the pecans & cranberries!!! <3 fall flavors!!

  2. Katie says:

    I’m not a big apple fan. I think I’m the only person in the world who doesn’t geek out over them actually. But I never knew you could freeze them. INteresting.

    What’s weird is that I do like applesauce.

    • Ashlei says:

      Hmm, maybe it’s a texture thing.

      I’m not actually sure how this freezing thing is going to go. But you can freeze pretty much everything else, so why not? :)

  3. I’m a chocoholic, so mini chocolate chips are definitely my favorite granola add in :) Though walnuts and pecans are pretty darn good too!!

  4. You have organic Honeycrisps?? Jealoussss

    omg I haven’t had granola in SO long (probably 2 weeks…) and it needs to re-enter my life stat. My favorite add-ins are dried fruit (dates, raisins), almonds, and some form of chocolate :)

  5. Tara Savage says:

    YUMMM!!! I’ve never made granola before but have had homemade granola and LOVE it. You have inspired me to wip up a pumpkin batch!!! <3

  6. Mom says:

    That’s true; I’ll be one happy camper as soon as the mail arrives with my goodies! :)

  7. teenagehealthfreak says:

    i love granola…with anything!! BUT everytime i make it…it’s a huge disaster..mostly burnt, undercooked, or chewy. it sucks. and i’m too cheap to buy it! Lol

    • Ashlei says:

      Lol, try my recipe or loosely based off of it! Or try mixing everything, baking at 300F for 45 minutes. Stirring once or twice in between. Then let it cool. The first time I made it I overcooked it because it didn’t look done and crispy, though once you take it out of the oven and it cools it hardens. Hope that helps :)

      xoxo

  8. Oooh, I never thought to chop and freeze apples! I do it with bananas when they’re on the outs all the time…don’t know why I never thought to do it with other fruit, though.
    I am sure the granola smelt fantastic – it looks delicious! I think granola always spreads a wonderfula roma, though :P My favorite fall flavors for granola would have to include either cinnamon raisin and pumpkin- cranberry :)
    Love the blog, glad you found me so I could find you!

Leave a Reply

