Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash

Tonight’s dinner inspiration was loosely based on a quinoa-pumpkin stuffing recipe I’d seen on Evan’s blog. I love quinoa. I love pumpkin and winter squash, and I love stuffing. So I tweaked it a little, and ended up with a quinoa-stuffed acorn squash. It was almost like the stuffing but deconstructed.

Saute onion while quinoa simmers.

P1010354

Roast acorn squash.

P1010356

Season stuffing with herbs de provence (one of my favorite herb-combinations), and spoon into one half of the squash.

P1010357

Served alongside some broiled salmon. It looks plain, but really the spices were on the bottom. That was the skin side and I forget to flip it after peeling off the skin.

Have you tried acorn squash before?

Who’s ready for Glee tonight? ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash

  1. Evan Thomas says:

    Mmm, yum! I had quinoa twice yesterday :-) The new college ramen noodle? I think so.

  2. Katie says:

    I love stuffing with sage….yum. I bet it would be great stuffed in an acorn squash too.

  3. I love any kind of squash! Yum!

  4. teenagehealthfreak says:

    this looks yummy. i have never tried acron squash..i just tried butternut tonight…I’M IN LOVE. :) so darn good. :) i plan on trying this kind too..and any other kinds i can find!!!

  5. I’ve never had acorn squash, but I’ve seen so many recipes similar to this on the blogworld and it always makes me drool…sounds so comforting!!

  6. Quinoa Diet says:

    I loved stuffed vegetables too. They are healthy and when they’re stuffed with quinoa they are pretty filling too.
    Great recipe by the way and the pictures are nice too.
    I’ll definitely give it a go.

  7. Lori says:

    That sounds fantastic. I love squash- and quinoa and put them together… YUM. Oh and salmon… Mmmmm.. :)

  8. I *love* acorn squash!

    Last year, I had a bad experience, because apparently the squash I purchased wasn’t ready to be picked and hadn’t reached that lovely state of sweetness. This past week, my opinion on acorn squash changed forever. SO delicious and sweet. :D

    I love the idea of stuffing it with quinoa! Definitely trying this. :D

  9. Im planning to stuff some acorn squash full of quinoa this weekend. Great minds thing alike!

  10. Yum! I’m a huge acorn squash fan, but have not tried stuffing it yet.

  11. zeebee says:

    I’ve never tried the acorn squash before.. but I did just purchase my 1st one and have it waiting to be creatively (and deliciously I’m sure) cooked this weekend!! Your meal looks so yummy!

  12. Pingback: Dinner for one | The Vegster

Leave a Reply

