Homemade Leek and Potato Soup

As the weather starts to turn chilly, I find myself wanting to enjoy soups. I love soup.

How can you not love soup?

Black bean; tomato; leek and potato; minestrone; butternut squash; roasted red pepper; lentil; carrot ginger. Some of my favorites. The list is never ending!

I love making homemade soups. Chopping onions and listening to them sizzle. The fragrant, rustic smell a pot of soup leaves throughout my apartment.

One of my favorite winter soups is leek and potato. There’s something about this combo that always brings a feeling of comfort.

It’s not a childhood favorite, and in fact, I’ve only been eating it for a couple years after discovering the wonderful leek.

If you like onions (especially green onions), and haven’t tried a leek I dare you to pick one or two up next trip to the store. It’s slightly sweeter (I think “less pungent” would probably be a better description) than onions and garlic and pairs nicely with yukon gold potatoes for a creamy soup.

The following is my own recipe, not adapted. Try it and let me know what you think! I’m sure you’ll be converted to a leek and potato soup lover!

Note: I suggest using organic produce for things grown in the ground because they tend to accumulate pesticides.

Also, be sure to clean the leek(s) really well – I cut them in half length-wise and run water through all the layers to get the dirt out.

For the milk, I used So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk, but any low-fat or whole milk will work fine, as well as unsweetened rice or almond milks.

Equipment needed: blender or hand-blender (immersion blender).

Leek and Potato Soup

  • 1-2 tbsp EVOO
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 stalk celery
  • 1 leek, white parts only (dark green leaves discarded)
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp sage
  • 1 tsp rosemary
  • fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 cups of milk
  • 2 yukon gold potatoes, cubed

Heath the EVOO in a pot over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and sauté until translucent. Add in the celery and continue to saute for 2-3 minutes until soft. Add in the leeks and herbs and sauté (4-5 minutes).

Add the potatoes, water and milk to the pot, and bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer for 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

photo-4

At this point you can either puree it in batches in a blender or use an immersion blender.

photo-1

photo-2

Serve and top with: a dollop of yogurt; pinch of dried sage, thyme, rosemary and black pepper; a sprinkle of parmigiano reggiano.

Curl up with a good book and a hoodie and enjoy.

photo-3

Have you ever tried Leek and Potato Soup? If not, would you? If so, what did you think?

What are you currently reading?

P.S. You can also buy an organic boxed version by Imagine Foods, but I promise it’s not as good ;)

This entry was posted in health, nutrition, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Homemade Leek and Potato Soup

  1. that looks sooo good – creamy soups usually intimidate me because they’re so hard to veganize, but this one looks really simple!

  2. Nikki says:

    I definitely had potato and leek soup at the Three Broomsticks this weekend at IOA :)very good! Yours looks yummier!!

  3. ZeeBee says:

    I’ve been seeing this soup pop up all over the place! Must be a sign I should try it :) Looks Delicious!! I am looking forward to making some homemade soups, such a fall/winter treat!

  4. Katie says:

    As I said, it is soup season, and I am ready!

  5. Goodness that looks amazing. AND I love that book. Have you seen the movie?

  6. I’ve never had leeks, but I’ve been wanting soup lately with it getting chillier out, so I’ll have to give this a try. Besides looking delicious, it also seems easy and cheap (which are both important for us grad students!). I bought a new immersion blender with the CSN gift card I won through you too!

  7. Tina says:

    I don’t know how I ever lived without my immersion blender. It’s so much safer than trying to blend hot soup in a standard blender.

    I love making creamy soups with So Delicious coconut milk. It works so well. And leeks are awesome! I can’t wait to make this!

  8. Pingback: Soup « The Vegster

  9. Pingback: Food Blog Holiday Recipes: Thanksgiving 2010 Round-Up & Fall Favorites — Family Fresh Cooking

  10. Leslie Davis says:

    Heya! My bestie and I fell in love with this soup and I used your recipe so we could reminisce. I used unsweetened soymilk, and I thought it came out pretty close. I had to add plenty of salt of course, but I thought it was good. My boyfriend said all he could taste was the soymilk… Sad face… So I think next time I’ll use an extra potato and less soymilk maybe, more water instead? I dunno. Anyway thanks for the recipe, it’s darn close :) Peace.

    • Ashlei says:

      Hey Leslie! Glad to hear you enjoyed it! Definitely tweak it to your liking – I find the potatoes add lots of creaminess, and soymilk has a strong flavor.

Leave a Reply

